Thanks for responding... my ip is blacklisted by the following:
http://whatismyipaddress.com/staticpages/index.php/is-my-ip-address-blacklisted
Is my IP address blacklisted?
sorbs.dnsbl.net.au
dnsbl.sorbs.net
dul.dnsbl.sorbs.net
no-more-funn.moensted.dk
zen.spamhaus.org
I read your response and checked again by
http://www.who.is/whois-148/ip-address/000.000.000.000 and it says I'm
located at Montevideo Uruguay!!.. not so, I am in México. This is what I
got from an IP traceback.
Registry Whois OrgName: Latin American and Caribbean IP address Regional
Registry
OrgID: LACNIC
Address: Rambla Republica de Mexico 6125
City: Montevideo
StateProv:
PostalCode: 12340
Country: UY (Uruguay)
Later did a more complete check into the problem and found this
explanation from one DNSBL
Quote: THE PBL IS NOT A BLACKLIST. You are not blacklisted for spamming or
for
anything you have done. The PBL is simply a list of ALL of the world's
end-user broadband IP space, i.e: IP space normally assigned to
broadband/ADSL customers. It is perfectly normal for dynamic IP addresses
(DSL, DHCP, cable, dialup) to be listed on the PBL. In fact all IP addresses
in the world which are not designated mail server machines *should be* on
the PBL.
The PBL does not prevent you sending email unless your email program is not
authenticating properly when it connects to your ISP or company's mail
server. This can happen if you have forgotten to turn on 'Authentication' in
your 'outgoing mail' account settings, or if the username/password your
email program is giving to your outgoing mail server is wrong.
If you are using a normal email program, such as Outlook, Entourage,
Thunderbird, Apple Mail, and you are being blocked by a Spamhaus PBL listing
when you try to send email, the reason is simply that YOU NEED TO TURN ON
'SMTP AUTHENTICATION' in your email program's account settings. See: How do
I turn on SMTP Authentication? Unquote
http://www.spamhaus.org/faq/answers.lasso?section=Generic%20Questions#197
So I guess that explains it.
Thanks for your help & interest.
----------------------------
> Thanks for responding... my ip is blacklisted by the following:
> http://whatismyipaddress.com/staticpages/index.php/is-my-ip-address-blacklisted
>
> Is my IP address blacklisted?
> sorbs.dnsbl.net.au
Probably the same blacklists as the SORBS list below but a mirror.
Don't see why that site tries to double up on a hit list by including a
blacklist more than once.
> dnsbl.sorbs.net
SORBS is a very slow list to update their records. When my IP address
expired and got changed (because it is dynamic), I got stuck with a new
IP address that had previously been identified by SORBS. They responded
in 1 day and after 3 days total they had deleted that record. But that
record was over 3 months old! When I asked them, they said that they
sometimes have to manually run a purge on old records and they do that
every 3 months (they were a little late this time). Obviously any
record about a spam source that is 3 months old is worthless. The
spammer isn't there anymore. SpamHaus and SpamCop delete their records
in 1 to 3 days unless it gets tickled again by more spam whereupon the
expiration gets longer.
> dul.dnsbl.sorbs.net
Almost every user will be in that list. DUL = Dynamic User List. This
is a list of IP addresses that are dynamically assigned. The vast
majority of users get dynamically assigned IP addresses. It should not
be used against the source IP of e-mail. It should be used against the
sending mail host. Infected hosts running mailer trojans will have
dynamic IP addresses, so checking if the sending mail host has a dynamic
IP address is one way of detecting spam. But, again, it shouldn't test
against the sender's own IP address since almost all will match in this
DUL list.
> no-more-funn.moensted.dk
This is some person's private blacklist or maybe one that some one
company compiles for their own use. They often allow public access to
these blacklists because their ego condemns them into thinking that if
all their effort helped to eliminate spam for them then it will help
others. These private lists made public are nowhere near the same level
of professionalism and authority as are, for example, SpamHaus and
SpamCop. There are a lot of these private but publicly accessible
blacklists which are of really no value other than to the person or
company that compiled that list.
That web site has some info about the various blacklists they show on
their web page. If you read that information by clicking on the link:
http://whatismyipaddress.com/staticpages/index.php/dnsbl-details?dnsbl=no-more-f
unn.moensted.dk
you'll see that, yep, it's just another joker who thinks his blacklist
is so important that he feels compelled to make it public. SpamHaus and
SpamCop are like professional cabinetry makers. This no-more-fun
blacklist is like your kid coming home from shop class with his
birdhouse project. The no-more-fun blacklist gets its IP address for
news.admin.net-abuse.email. If you ever visited the NANAE newsgroups,
I'm not sure that you would agree that is the best place from which to
compile a blacklist. From the description of this blacklist at
http://www.moensted.dk/spam/no-more-funn/, it appears it yet another one
that rolls in a DUL blacklist.
> zen.spamhaus.org
Again, this is a DUL list. The zen blacklist is a composite of
SpamHaus' SBL, XBL, and PBL blacklists. Their PBL blacklist is a list
of dynamic IP addresses. So almost every user will match against this
list because almost every user gets assigned a dynamic IP address.
If these DULs (SORBS or SpamHaus) are used, they must NOT be used
against the sender's IP address, only against the sending mail host's IP
address. Getting an e-mail from a *mail server* that is using a dynamic
IP address is a red flag that it is probably spam. Legitimate
(non-spam) e-mails originate from mail hosts with static IP addresses.
Some users like to run their own mail server but often that violates the
TOS for their ISP and it gets their e-mails red-flagged. If they want
to run their own mail server, they should pay the extra cost of getting
a static IP address.
> I read your response and checked again by
> http://www.who.is/whois-148/ip-address/000.000.000.000 and it says I'm
> located at Montevideo Uruguay!!.. not so, I am in México.
I had to assume your IP address for your posts here (201.160.220.148) is
the same one from which you send e-mail. I used
http://www.liveipmap.com. It says your ISP (not you specifically) is in
Tijuana, MX. When I used the www.who.is site (never used them before),
what it reports when I enter your IP address is the regional ICANN
authority for that global region. They decide who can be local
registrars within that region. They are not you. They are not your
ISP. Google on ICANN if you want to find out who they are. They are at
the top of the chain for IP allocation. You are at the bottom of the
chain with your ISP one step above. Using other IP lookup services and
using the only IP address that I know for you from your posts:
owner: CABLEMAS TELECOMUNICACIONES (TIJUANA)
ownerid: MX-CTTI-LACNIC
responsible: Cablemas Telecomunicaciones (Tijuana)
address: BLVD CUAUHTEMOC SUR PONIENTE COL. DAVILA, 2717,
address: 22400 - TIJUANA - BC
country: MX
phone: +52 664 2901180 []