Home | Contact Us | FAQ | Search & Site Map | Link to Us
Sign In | Join | Other 45 Sites in Network
Home
Discussion GroupsWindows VistaWindows XPWindows MeWindows 98Windows 95Virtual PCInternet ExplorerOutlook ExpressWindows MediaSecurity
Related Topics
MS Server ProductsMS OfficePC HardwareMore Topics ...

Windows Forum / Security / Viruses / August 2008

Tip: Looking for answers? Try searching our database.

Virtumonde, Registry Keys, User Accounts, Microsoft

Thread view: 
Enable EMail Alerts  Start New Thread
Thread rating: 
Scott - 26 Aug 2008 00:51 GMT
Can you identify the originator of Virtumonde by the registry keys it
leaves?

Would a user account prevent Virtumonde from installing? Would I get a
notice that administrator priviliges are needed?

Does Virtumonde use the Visual Basic language of Office, or something else?

Will Microsoft's Malicious Software Removal Tool completely scan my system
independent of whether it's run from an admin or user account?

Can I confidently assume my XP Home desktop system is clean since Ad Aware
has not found anything and the August Malicious Software Removal Tool ran
once?

I have a notebook that connects to the desktop through a router. Can this
malware spread to my notebook through the router? I exchange files using the
Shared Documents folder.

Details.

On Aug 5, Ad Aware found a file "yacscom.dll" it declared to be Virtumonde.

Yahoo Anti Spy found four registry keys it called hijackers.

One is ISTbar from a company called Internet Search Technologies:

hkey_local_machine \software\microsoft\windows\currentversion\internet
settings\zonemap\domains\contentmatch.net

Three were from Mirar. They had the exact form above but with different
domain names at the end: mirarseach.com, netnucleus.com, getmirar.com

If I investigate these domains, will I get infected?
David H. Lipman - 26 Aug 2008 01:42 GMT
From: "Scott" <scott@adelphia.net>

Hi Scott:

Replies are inline...

| Can you identify the originator of Virtumonde by the registry keys it
| leaves?

No.  They may only identify they are realted to the malware itself/

| Would a user account prevent Virtumonde from installing? Would I get a
| notice that administrator priviliges are needed?

Not if the site that hosts the installer uses exploit code that causes a buffer overflow
condition and a resultant elevation of privileges.

| Does Virtumonde use the Visual Basic language of Office, or something else?

I haven't heard of it using VB.

| Will Microsoft's Malicious Software Removal Tool completely scan my system
| independent of whether it's run from an admin or user account?

Yes.

| Can I confidently assume my XP Home desktop system is clean since Ad Aware
| has not found anything and the August Malicious Software Removal Tool ran
| once?

No.  There is no 100% assurance.  Ad-aware isn't 100% on all variants.  You would have to
also scan with other utilities such a the MalwareBytes Anti-Malware to increase your
chaces but you won't reach 100% if it is a new and unknown variant.

| I have a notebook that connects to the desktop through a router. Can this
| malware spread to my notebook through the router? I exchange files using the
| Shared Documents folder.

No.  It is NOT a virus and does not self replicate.  The vundo form and the Virtumond
adware assistance to get installed such as Social Engineering and vulnerability
exploitation.

| Details.

| On Aug 5, Ad Aware found a file "yacscom.dll" it declared to be Virtumonde.

| Yahoo Anti Spy found four registry keys it called hijackers.

| One is ISTbar from a company called Internet Search Technologies:

| HKLM\software\microsoft\windows\currentversion\internet
settings\zonemap\domains\contentmatch.net

| Three were from Mirar. They had the exact
| form above but with different
| domain names at the end: mirarseach.com, netnucleus.com,
| getmirar.com

| If I investigate these domains, will I get infected?

Possibly !

Signature

Dave
http://www.claymania.com/removal-trojan-adware.html
Multi-AV - http://www.pctipp.ch/downloads/dl/35905.asp

Scott - 29 Aug 2008 23:39 GMT
Thanks for the answers.

Scott
Los Angeles

> From: "Scott" <scott@adelphia.net>
>
[quoted text clipped - 69 lines]
>
> Possibly !
David H. Lipman - 30 Aug 2008 00:54 GMT
From: "Scott" <scott@adelphia.net>

| Thanks for the answers.

| Scott
| Los Angeles

NP -- Anytime  :-)
 
Sign In
Join
My Latest Posts
My Monitored Threads
My Blog
My Photo Gallery
My Profile
My Homepage

Start New Thread
Enable EMail Alerts
Rate this Thread



©2008 Advenet LLC   Privacy Policy - Terms of Use
This website includes both content owned or controlled by Advenet as well as content owned or controlled by third parties.